Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

UAA Announces 30th Anniversary Baseball Team

UAA Announces 30th Anniversary Baseball Team

The University Athletic Association has announced its All-Association 30th Anniversary Baseball Team. Fifty student-athletes earned the honor, including 17 from 13-time UAA champion Emory University.

Full Release

The team consists of each student-athlete who was named Most Valuable Player/Player of the Year or accumulated five or more points with two points awarded for All-Association first-team recognition, and one point for second-team honors in his career. All-Tournament designation, an additional award that began in 2009, is based solely on tournament competition and was not considered for this award.

Among those honored are four-time All-Association choices: Marshall Hampton (2004-07), Chad Mullins (2008-11), and Matt Keen (2010-13) of Case Western Reserve University, Andrew Cohn (2008-11) and Brandon Hannon (2011-14) of Emory, Jack Cinoman (2010-13) of University of Chicago, and Andy Shields (2004-07) and Chris Lowery (2012-15) of Washington University. Shields (2005), Mullins (2008), and Lowery (2015) each earned Most Valuable Player honors.

Eleven of the 17 Emory players on the anniversary team garnered Most Valuable Player/Player of the Year honors during their career: Doug Markott (1994), Andy Atkins (1995), Drew Schwartz (2001), Andrew Pinckney and Rob Segear (2004), David Hissey (2006), Jason Glushon (2007), Frank Pfister (2008), Steve Bralver (2009), Brett Lake (2014), and Billy Dimlow (2017).

Brandeis University put seven players on the 25-year squad, including back-to-back Most Valuable Player selections Eric Podbelski (1991) and Brian Corsetti (1992). Jim Freethey (2002) and Sean Ewers (2003) were also back-to-back Most Valuable Player honorees for the Judges.

Five Washington University players have earned Player of the Year honors in the past three seasons. Chris Lowery earned the award in 2015, Ben Browdy and Austin Darmawan shared the honor in 2016, and Brad Margolin shared the first Pitcher of the Year award in 2017.

Jonathan Iaione was named 2017 UAA Position Player of the Year to become the first NYU player to be named to the 30th anniversary team.

In 30 years, 43 teams from the UAA have earned a trip to the NCAA Division III Baseball Championship. Emory has reached the Division III World Series six times with runner-up finishes in 2007 and 2014. Brandeis reached the World Series in 1999.

All-Association 30th Anniversary Baseball Team

Andy Atkins, Emory                                    

Kyle Billig, Washington                            

Stephen Bonser, Washington                            

Steve Bralver, Emory                                    

Ben Browdy, Washington                            

Jack Cinoman, Chicago                                  

Andrew Cohn, Emory                                   

Brian Corsetti, Brandeis                                 

Austin Darmawan, Washington                            

Ben Dashefsky, Brandeis                                 

Billy Dimlow, Emory                                    

Sean Ewers, Brandeis                                 

Scott Feskanich, CWRU                                   

Jim Freethey, Brandeis                                 

Mike Garvis, Emory                                    

Jarrett Gish, CWRU                                   

Dane Glueck, Washington                            

Jason Glushon, Emory                                    

Zach Golden, Brandeis                                 

Curt Goldstein, Chicago                                  

Andrew Gronski,  CWRU                                   

Marshall Hampton, CWRU                                   

Brandon Hannon, Emory                                    

David Hissey, Emory                                    

Jonathan Iaione, NYU   

Matt Keen, CWRU

Zack Kessinger, Washington

Brett Lake, Emory

Bryan Langbord, Emory

Thor Larsen, Washington

Zander Lehmann, Washington

J.R. Lopez, Chicago

Chris Lowery, Washington

Brad Margolin, Washington

Doug Markott, Emory

Chris McAuley, Emory

Tom McShane, Brandeis

Chad Mullins, CWRU

Frank Pfister, Emory

Andrew Pinckney, Emory

Eric Podbelski, Brandeis

Brandon Rogalski, Washington

Rob Segear, Emory

Drew Schwartz, Emory

Andy Shields, Washington

Lance Sparks, CWRU

Nate Stein, Rochester

Brian Tatro, Washington

Brad Wands, Emory

Stephen Williams, Chicago