Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Washington Lands Seven On NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Washington Lands Seven On NFF Hampshire Honor Society

From Washington University Athletics

Washington University in St. Louis had seven student-athletes named to the 2014 National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers.

A total of 838 players from 267 schools qualified for membership in the society's eighth year, setting a new record for the number of members in the history of the program, which began in 2007. 

Seniors Alex Bruns, Tate Byers, Danny Lee, Peter Lowery, Andrew Skalman, Colin Webb and Seth Wight each earned the honor.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's current National Scholar-Athlete program greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the more than 700 college and universities with football programs nationwide. The initiative has honored 4,927 student-athletes since its inception.

Washington University finished the 2013 season with an 8-3 overall record and advanced to the NCAA Division III Playoffs for the first time since 1999 and second time in school history. The Bears also won their 10th University Athletic Association (UAA) Championship with a 3-0 record.