Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

10 Chicago Players Selected to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

10 Chicago Players Selected to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

From University of Chicago Athletics

Ten members of the University of Chicago football team gained membership into the 2016 National Football Foundation Hampshire Honor Society on Wednesday.

A total of 872 student-athletes from 277 schools across all divisions earned the academic recognition. The Maroons were represented by 10 seniors – cornerback Vincent Beltrano, defensive back Spencer Byrne, running back Ben Clark, cornerback Christopher Dengler, kicker Karol Kurzydlowski, wide receiver Colin Macri, linebacker Nick Pielech, safety Greg Thome, wide receiver Cole Thoms and running back Justin Waney. In 2015, UChicago earned its first-ever national ranking and finished the season with a 6-4 record. The senior class had a cumulative four-year record of 24-15 (.615 winning percentage).

The Hampshire Honor Society was started in 2007 and is in its 10th year of existence. Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include:

  • Being a starter or a significant contributor in one's last year of eligibility (or a senior who has declared for the NFL Draft) at an NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III or an NAIA college or university;
  • Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and
  • Meeting all NCAA/NAIA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.