Seven Carnegie Mellon Players Named to the NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Seven Carnegie Mellon Players Named to the NFF Hampshire Honor Society

From Carnegie Mellon University Athletics

The Carnegie Mellon University football team had seven student-athletes named to the 2018 National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers.

An all-time high 1,251 players from a record-tying 302 schools qualified for membership in the society's 12th year. The record topped last year's number of 1,091 players honored in the history of the program, which began in 2007.

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include:

  • Being a starter or a significant contributor in one's last year of eligibility (or a senior who has declared for the NFL Draft) at an NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III or an NAIA college or university;
  • Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and
  • Meeting all NCAA/NAIA mandated progress towards degree requirements.

The 7 Tartans recognized were:

Defensive Lineman Neal Baranosky
Running Back Sam Benger
Inside Linebacker Stanley Bikulege
Outside Linebacker Kyle Brittain
Inside Linebacker Sean Graff
Offensive Lineman Ben Mersman
Outside Linebacker Quentin Wolfe