Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

UAA Announces 2018 Men's Golf All-Association Team; Matt Organisak of Emory Repeats as Player of the Year

UAA Announces 2018 Men's Golf All-Association Team; Matt Organisak of Emory Repeats as Player of the Year

Sophomore Matt Organisak of Emory University repeated as Player of the Year as the UAA announced the 2018 Men's Golf All-Association Team.

2018 UAA Men's Golf All-Association Team

Organisak has played in all of Emory's tournaments this season, averaging a team-best 73.1 strokes over 19 rounds. He has ranked as the team's top performer on four occasions while recording a team-high 10 rounds of par or better. His best 18-hole effort of the season was a second-round 67 (tying the program's fourth-best individual round in school history) at the Rhodes College Fall Classic, where he ended up tied for co-medalist honors with a school-record 54-hole score of 206.

Named the UAA Golfer of the Week on three occasions, Organisak has compiled four top-five finishes this season, including a third-place performance out of 83 competitors at the Discover DeKalb Emory Spring Invitational with an even-par 140, tying the school's fourth-best showing for a 36-hole tournament. He helped the Eagles to their third straight conference crown, playing his way to a spot on the Championships All-Tournament Team.

Jason Li of Carnegie Mellon University was named Rookie of the Year. He won both of his matches during the UAA match play championship in March, topping Jack Mulligan of Rochester 1-up to seal the opening round win for the Tartans. The freshman was down two holes with three to play and finished with a birdie on 16, par on 17, and a birdie on 18 to claim the victory by winning all three. The next day, he knocked off Emory's Eric Yiu 2-and-1 on his way to being named to the UAA Championship All-Tournament team. He finished the season with a team-best average round of 73.9 through 15 rounds and recorded a season-low round of 70 on four occasions.

Player of the Year: Matt Organisak, Emory
Rookie of the Year: Jason Li, Carnegie Mellon

First Team
Stefano Butti, Emory
Keenan Hickton, Emory
Jason Li, Carnegie Mellon
Matt Organisak, Emory 
Jason Paek, Rochester
Matt Shen, NYU

Second Team
Nikhil Mohan, Carnegie Mellon
Patrick Tan, Carnegie Mellon 
Connor Yakubov, Emory
Steven Zeng, Rochester