Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

UAA Announces 30th Anniversary Men’s Soccer Team

UAA Announces 30th Anniversary Men’s Soccer Team

The University Athletic Association has announced its 30th Anniversary Men's Soccer Team. Sixty student-athletes earned the honor, including 13 from Emory University and 11 from Carnegie Mellon University.

The team consists of each student-athlete who was named Most Valuable Player or accumulated five or more points in his career, with two points awarded for All-Association first-team recognition, and one point for second-team honors.

Among those honored are repeat Most Valuable Player honorees Nate Micklos of the University of Rochester (2004-05), Patrick Carver of Emory University (2007-08), Ricky Griffin of Carnegie Mellon University (2008-09), Vinny Bell of Case Western Reserve University (2010-11), and the only three-time MVP, Adam Hibshman of the Tartans (2000-02).

Hibshman and Griffin are two of the 11 Carnegie Mellon student-athletes named to the UAA 30th Anniversary Team. Alan Hom (1992) and Michael Brazinski (1993) of the Tartans also earned Most Valuable Player honors.

Nate Micklos of Rochester is the only student-athlete to receive first-team All-Association accolades four times, accomplishing the feat from 2002-2005. Among other representatives from the Yellowjackets is current head coach Chris Apple.

Although the University of Chicago has dominated UAA Rookie of the Year accolades in recent years, 2016 UAA Most Valuable Player Nicco Capotosto was the first UAA MVP in program history.

Brothers Sam and Josh Ocel of Brandeis University are each members of the 30th Anniversary Team. Sam Ocel was the UAA Most Valuable Player in 2012. Tyler Savonen garnered MVP honors in 2014. 

Brandeis University reached the NCAA Division III Men's Soccer Championship Final Four in 2016, the fourth UAA team to advance to the national semifinal in the Association's 30-year history. Washington University played in the national title match in 1987, while the University of Chicago (1996) and NYU (2006) have also made national semifinal appearances. Washington has reached the Round of Eight three other times (1992, 1995, and 2007). Emory (1988) and Rochester (2009) have also reached the national quarterfinals. The Judges also reached the Elite 8 in 2014.

University Athletic Association
30th Anniversary Men's Soccer Team

Chris Apple, Rochester                            

Matt Arnett, Emory                                 

Pat Barry, Chicago                               

Harry Beddo, Washington                         

Vinny Bell, CWRU                                

Michael Brazinski, Carnegie Mellon                 

Jonathan Browne, Carnegie Mellon                 

Jason Buelow, Carnegie Mellon                 

Scott Cahoon, Emory                                 

Nicco Capotosto, Chicago                               

Patrick Carver, Emory                                 

Michael Choquette, Chicago                               

Alex Clifford, Chicago                               

Bryan Cronin, Washington                         

Chris Cvecko, CWRU                                

Dan Dalton,  Chicago                               

Kirk Dietrich, Rochester                            

Karl Dix, Emory                                 

Kyle Draeger, Washington                         

Zack Edmonds, Washington                         

Kyle Green, NYU                                   

Ricky Griffin, Carnegie Mellon                 

Ken Hannan, Brandeis                              

Adam Hibshman, Carnegie Mellon                 

Alan Hom, Carnegie Mellon                 

Emeka Iheme, Rochester                            

Dennis Jerkunica, Emory                                 

Scott Jones, Washington                         

Conor Lanahan, Brandeis                             

Ho Lee, Emory                                 

Matthew Levine, Emory

Derek Marinatos, Emory

Nate Micklos, Rochester

Nick Mikolenko, Rochester

Ahmed Mohyeldin, Emory

Matt Murphy, Brandeis

Andrew Natalino, Emory

Michael Novaria, Brandeis

Josh Ocel, Brandeis

Sam Ocel, Brandeis

Mark Painter, Carnegie Mellon

Eddie Park, Carnegie Mellon

Mike Peacock, Rochester

Jon Plezia, Rochester

Justin Reed, Washington

Greg Rheinheimer, Washington

Mark Ruegsegger, CWRU

Tyler Savonen, Brandeis

David Shapiro, Carnegie Mellon

Matt Sher, Emory

Michael Smith, Emory

James Steidel, Carnegie Mellon

Shelton Stewart, Brandeis

Sam Stodghill, Emory

Alex Swanger, Rochester

Jeritt Thayer, NYU

Matt Twardowski, Washington

Harry Ulrich, Carnegie Mellon

Jason Walker, Rochester

Paul Wright, Washington