Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

UAA Announces 30th Anniversary Men's Swimming and Diving Team

UAA Announces 30th Anniversary Men's Swimming and Diving Team

The University Athletic Association has announced its 30th Anniversary Men's Swimming and Diving Team. Fifty-six student-athletes earned the honor, including 22 from Emory University, which has won every Association championship since 1999 and captured the 2017 NCAA Division III Men's Swimming and Diving Championships title.

UAA 30th Anniversary Men's Swimming and Diving Release

The team consists of each student-athlete who was named Swimmer of the Year, Diver of the Year, won an individual event at the NCAA Division III Swimming and Diving Championships, or won the same event at least three times at the UAA Swimming and Diving Championships.

Among those honored are Andrew Wilson of Emory, who earned UAA Swimmer of the Year and NCAA Division III Men's Swimming Diving and Championships Most Outstanding Performer honors in 2015 and 2017. In addition, he was named the 2014-15 and 2016-17 NCAA Division III Men's Swimming and Diving Academic All-American of the Year.

Brian Zimmerman of Carnegie Mellon University is the only other UAA student-athlete to be named Most Outstanding Performer at the NCAA championship, doing so in 1991. He was named UAA Swimmer of the Year in 1989, 1991, and 1992, and swept the Association title in both the 200- and 500-yard freestyle events from 1989 through 1992. The Tartans swept the UAA Swimmer of the Year honor from 2001 through 2005 with Brian McCarthy winning the award three times and Chris Pearson twice. Pearson matched Zimmerman in winning the 200- and 500-yard UAA freestyle events four times (2002-2005), while McCarthy won the UAA title in the 200-yard backstroke and 400-yard individual medley in all four of his championship appearances from 2001 through 2004.

Andrew Lardiere of NYU garnered back-to-back UAA Swimmer of the Year honors in 2008 and 2009.

Matt Kuhn (2007 and 2009) of Carnegie Mellon, Chris Radpour (1989-1990) and Mike Klein (2005-06) of Emory, Oleg Borisyuk (1994-95) of NYU, and Matthew Staab (2013-14) of University of Chicago each earned UAA Diver of the Year accolades twice.

Ryan Bass (50-yard freestyle, 2011-14) and Fred Schreiber (1998-2001) of Emory, and Zane Turpin (1,650-yard freestyle, 2012-15) of Washington University won the same event four consecutive times at the UAA championship. Luke Dobben of the Bears won the 500-yard freestyle four times (2012-14 and 2016). 

UAA 30th Anniversary Men's Swimming and Diving Team

Tom Aliberti, Emory                                    

Kris Alshabkhoun, Chicago                                  

Patrick Augustyn, Emory                                    

Ryan Bass, Emory                                    

Alex Beyer, Washington                            

Austen Blease, NYU                                      

Oleg Borisyuk, NYU                                      

Ryan Braun, Washington                            

Connor Brisson, NYU                                      

Reed Dalton, Washington                            

John DesRoches, NYU                                      

Keith Diggs, Emory                                    

Luke Dobben, Washington                            

Miller Douglas, Emory                                    

Connor Farrell, CWRU                                   

Oleg Geller, NYU                                      

Michael Goldfarb, Brandeis                                 

Gene Gurin, NYU                                      

Justin Hake, Emory                                    

Chris Halstead, Emory                                    

Richard Kinnett, Emory                                    

Mike Klein, Emory                                    

Jeff Klug, Emory                                   

Daniel Kolb, Emory                                    

David Krzeminski, Carnegie Mellon                    

Matt Kuhn, Carnegie Mellon                    

Michael Lagieski, Washington                            

Andrew Lardiere, NYU                                      

Brandon Lum, Washington

Brian McCarthy, Carnegie Mellon

Mike McGlone, NYU

Jake McGuire, Carnegie Mellon

Thomas Meek, Chicago

Tim Newton, Emory

Max Norris, NYU

Peter O'Brien, Emory

Eric Pcholinski, NYU

Chris Pearson, Carnegie Mellon

Baron Poitier, NYU

Chris Radpour, Emory

Christopher Rendall, Emory

Anthony Restaino, Chicago

Scott Richardson, Rochester

Pat Rodjom, CWRU

Fred Schreiber, Emory

Michael Slavik, Washington

Oliver Smith, Emory

Ross Spock, Emory

Matt Spooner , Emory

Matthew Staab, Chicago

John Sutter, Emory

Eric Triebe, Washington

Zane Turpin, Washington

Chip Villarreal, Emory

Andrew Wilson, Emory

Brian Zimmerman, Carnegie Mellon