Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

UAA Announces 30th Anniversary Men's Tennis Team

UAA Announces 30th Anniversary Men's Tennis Team

The University Athletic Association has announced its 30th Anniversary Men's Tennis Team. Forty-three student-athletes earned the honor, including 25 from Emory University.

UAA Men's Tennis 30th Anniversary Release

The team consists of each student-athlete who was named Most Valuable Player, won an NCAA Division III singles title, won an ITA (Intercollegiate Tennis Association) Division III Small College Championship singles title, or accumulated five or more points with two points awarded for All-Association first-team singles recognition, and one point for second-team singles honors in his career. Players who captured the top-flight singles title in years preceding the designation of a Most Valuable Player (1989-93) were also named to the team.

Among those honored is Dillon Pottish of Emory, the only three-time Most Valuable Player, earning the award from 2010-12. He won the NCAA Division III individual singles title in 2012.

Several other individual NCAA champions and runners-up were part of the 30th anniversary team.

Noel Occomy of Brandeis University was the first UAA NCAA singles champion in the spring of the UAA's first season in 1988. Kayvan Fatahalian of Carnegie Mellon became the second UAA student-athlete to capture an NCAA singles title in 2000. Michael Goodwin of Emory, the 2008 UAA Most Valuable Player, won the NCAA singles title in 2009. John Watts of Washington University captured the 2010 NCAA singles championship. Chris Goodwin, Michael's brother, won the 2011 NCAA singles title.

Jed Weinstein (1996 and 1998) and Brett Kaplan (2000-01) of Emory joined Pottish as the only players to garner multiple Most Valuable Player recognition. Weinstein, Kaplan, and 1999 Most Valuable Player Conor Civins of the Eagles all received All-Association accolades four times.

Seven Washington University players have garnered MVP honors and an automatic spot on the UAA 30th anniversary team. Rich Berens (1994), Neil Kenner (2003), Ari Rosenthal (2006), Charlie Cutler (2007), Watts (2009), Adam Putterman (2013) and John Carswell (2014) of the Bears received the top Association award.

In 30 years, 44 teams from the UAA have finished in the top-eight with 24 advancing to at least the NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Championship Final Four. Emory has won four national titles, including the 2017 championship. Washington won the national title in 2008 and made six consecutive trips to the Final Four from 2008-13. University of Chicago made back-to-back Final Four appearances in 2015 and 2016. Carnegie Mellon University, Case Western Reserve University, and University of Rochester have each reached the national quarterfinals. Brandeis University finished in the top-10 in the NCAA championship after winning the UAA title in 1989.

All-UAA 30th Anniversary Men's Tennis Team

Abishek Alla, Carnegie  Mellon                

Rich Berens, Washington                         

Mark Boren, Emory                                 

Adam Brewer, Emory                                 

Jim Burns, Emory                                 

John Carswell, Washington                         

Nicolas Chua, Chicago                               

Conor Civins, Emory                                 

Aaron Cohen, Emory                                 

Charlie Cutler, Washington                         

Kayvon Fatahalian, Carnegie Mellon                 

David Genovese, Emory                                 

Todd Getz, Emory                                 

Chris Goodwin, Emory                                 

Michael Goodwin, Emory                                 

Alex Jacobs, Emory                                 

Brad Jaffe, Emory                                 

Sam Jonas, Brandeis                              

Brett Kaplan, Emory                                 

Neil Kenner, Washington                         

CJ Krimbill, CWRU                                

Demetrios Leontis, NYU                  

Oliver Lopp, Emory

Aman Manji, Emory

Yoji Masuoka, Emory

Jason McCarthy, Emory

Scott Milener, Rochester

Michael Miller, Emory

Ethan Morris, Rochester

Rafe Mosetick, Emory

Noel Occomy, Brandeis

Gavin O'Connell, Emory

James Oliviero, Emory

Gary Parizher, Washington

Dillon Pottish, Emory

Adam Putterman, Washington

Patrick Redmond, Emory

Ari Rosenthal, Washington

Travis Saacke, Emory

Michael Thompson, NYU

John Watts, Washington    

Jed Weinstein, Emory

Colin White, Emory