Chicago Wrestling Rolls to Second Consecutive UAA Championship and 17th Overall

Chicago Wrestling Rolls to Second Consecutive UAA Championship and 17th Overall

From University of Chicago Athletics

The day started with a dominating performance over No. 17 New York University and ended with another rout of host Case Western Reserve as the University of Chicago wrestling team emphatically defended its University Athletic Association title with Saturday's championship victory.

The No. 24 Maroons (10-3) won 9 of 10 matches in the day's opening match against the Violets, with junior Nick Carola collecting the lone pin at 197, falling NYU's Luke Ratchford at the 4:30 mark. With the match starting at 174, the Maroons won six-straight matches to take a commanding 22-0 lead they would not relinquish.

Three of UChicago's other wins were by major decision, courtesy of rookie Ben Sarasin, senior Louis DeMarco, and junior Kahlan Lee-Lermer.

Case Western Reserve defeated NYU by a score of 32-21 in the second dual, before the Maroons dismantled the Spartans (4-4) by a score of 34-6. The Maroons won 8-of-10 matches, as junior Kyle Peisker (1:56) and Carola (5:33) earned pins and Sarasin and sophomore Jason Crary each recorded technical fall wins.

The UAA crown marked the 17th UAA title under the leadership of Head Coach Leo Kocher, now in his 40th season. DeMarco, junior Steve Bonsall, Lee-Lermer, Sarasin, Peisker, Carola and senior Patrick Mulkerin were  named to the 2019 All-UAA Team for their performances.

174: Ben Sarasin (UC) maj. dec. over Izaake Zuckerman (NYU), 14-6 4-0 UC
184: Kyle Peisker (UC) wins by forfeit over NYU 10-0 UC
197: Nick Carola (UC) pin over Luke Ratchford (NYU), 4:30 16-0 UC
285: Patrick Mulkerin (UC) dec. over Will Ortman (NYU), 5-0 19-0 UC
125: David Traub (UC) dec. over Jonathan Keltz (NYU), 11-10 22-0 UC
133: Louis DeMarco (UC) maj. Dec. over Zach Alexander (NYU), 13-4 26-0 UC
141: Evan Drill (NYU) dec. over Chaise Hauck (UC), 10-3 26-3 UC
149: Alec Gleason (UC) dec. over Seth Schulman (NYU), 9-3 29-3 UC
157: Steve Bonsall (UC) dec. over. Dylan Dwyer (NYU), 5-3 32-3 UC
165: Kahlan Lee-Lermer (UC) maj. Dec. over Kade Steck-Loughney (NYU), 16-7 36-3 UC

174: Ben Sarasin (UC) tech. fall over Aidan McCooey (CWRU), 16-0 5-0 UC
184: Kyle Peisker (UC) pin over Brian Kent (CWRU), 1:56 11-0 UC
197: Nick Carola (UC) pin over Gavin Dersh-Fisher (CWRU), 5:33 17-0 UC
285: Patrick Mulkerin (UC) dec. over Brian McNamara (CWRU), 5-2 20-0 UC
125: Adam Kates (CWRU) dec. over David Traub (UC), 6-5 20-3 UC
133: Louis DeMarco (UC) dec. over Jacob Frisch (CWRU), 7-5 23-3 UC
141: Chaise Hauck (UC) dec. over Alec Hoover (CWRU), 8-6 26-3 UC
149: Andrew Hoover (CWRU) dec. over Alec Gleason (UC), 4-1 26-6 UC
157: Jason Crary (UC) tech. fall over Jack Chipps (CWRU), 16-0 31-6 UC
165: Kahlan Lee-Lermer (UC) dec. over Isaac Collier (CWRU), 4-1 34-6 UC