Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

UAA Announces 30th Anniversary Women's Swimming and Diving Team

UAA Announces 30th Anniversary Women's Swimming and Diving Team

The University Athletic Association has announced its 30th Anniversary Women's Swimming and Diving Team. Sixty-one student-athletes earned the honor with 31 coming from Emory University, which has won every Association championship since 1999 and has captured 10 NCAA Division III Women's Swimming and Diving Championships titles, including the past eight national championships. 

UAA 30th Anniversary Women's Swimming and Diving Release

The team consists of each student-athlete who was named Swimmer of the Year, Diver of the Year, won an individual event at the NCAA Division III Swimming and Diving Championships, or won the same event at least three times at the UAA Swimming and Diving Championships.

Among those honored are Rachael LeClair of Emory, who earned UAA Swimmer of the Year honors in each of the first three UAA championships (1988-90) and Rebecca Fruehan of Carnegie Mellon University, who won three consecutive UAA Swimmer of the Year honors from 1994-96. Fruehan captured the 200-yard freestyle in four consecutive UAA championships from 1993-96.

Ruth Westby of Emory earned UAA Swimmer of the Year honors in 2008 and shared the award in 2010 with Liz Horvat, who repeated the honor in 2011. Horvat won both the 400-yard individual medley and the 500-yard freestyle UAA title in four consecutive years (2008-11). The Eagles have garnered the UAA Swimmer of the Year honor for each of the past eight championships with current student-athlete Cindy Cheng earning the award in each of the past two championships.

Three more Eagles won a UAA championship event four times. Megan Gibbons swept the 100- and 200-yard butterfly events from 1990 to 1993, Kendal Hansen finished first in the 100-yard breaststroke from 1991 to 1994, and Courtney Carter earned the UAA title in the 400-yard individual medley from 1992 to 1995. Meredith Nordbrook of Washington University earned the UAA title in the 200-yard individual medley each year from 2005 to 2008.

Alisha Alaimo of Emory (1995-97) and Mindi Finnegan of Carnegie Mellon (2002-04) were each named UAA Diver of the Year in three consecutive UAA championships. Rebecca Schmidt of University of Chicago also won the award three times (2010-11, 2013). Rebecca Hanking (1989-90), Nancy Weinsier (1998-99), and Priya Srikanth (2007-08) of Washington University earned back-to-back UAA Diver of the Year awards.

UAA 30th Anniversary Women's Swimming and Diving Team

Alisha Alaimo, Emory                            

Elizabeth Aronoff, Emory                            

Patricia Beck, NYU                              

Kristina Brewer, NYU                              

Austin Campitelli, NYU                              

Courtney Carter, Emory                            

Cindy Cheng, Emory                            

Kirsten Clark, Rochester                       

Jennifer Collins, Washington                    

Honore Collins, NYU                              

Christine Cook, Emory                            

Anne Culpepper, Emory                            

Kelly Dietz, NYU                              

Anna Dobben, Emory                            

Julia Durmer, Emory                            

Abby Erdmann, Chicago                          

Monica Farren, Rochester                       

Mindi Finnegan, Carnegie Mellon             

Rebecca Fruehan, Carnegie Mellon             

Megan Gibbons, Emory                            

Anna Girlich, Chicago                          

Sarah Greene, Emory                            

Rebecca Hanking, Washington                    

Kendal Hansen, Emory                            

Tracey Hendrickson, Washington                    

Holly Hinz, Emory                            

Lindsey Hoffner, Emory                            

Liz Horvat, Emory                            

Katie Hughes, Emory                            

Alicia Kendig, CWRU                           

Annelise Kowalsky, Emory

Lisa Kung, Emory

Nancy Larson, Emory

Rachael LeClair, Emory

Agnes Lo, Chicago

Julia Mavrodin, Emory

Susan Modesitt, Emory

Fiona Muir, Emory

Sadie Nennig, Emory

McKenna Newsom-Schoenberg, Emory

Meredith Nordbrook, Washington

Erika Norris, NYU

Lisa Parton, Emory

Julia Pavia, Carnegie Mellon

Melanie Peters, NYU

Margaret Pizer, Chicago

Lauren Preyss, CWRU

Carrie Register, Washington

Erin Rockwell, Carnegie Mellon

Rebecca Schmidt, Chicago

Jennifer Scott, Washington

Corinne Smith, Emory

Priya Srikanth, Washington

Amanda Stadermann, Washington

Liz Swartwout, Emory

Julia Wawer, Emory

Nancy Weinsier, Washington

Ruth Westby, Emory

Samantha White, Emory

April Whitley, Emory

Lindsay Wilkinson, Washington