Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

UAA Announces 30th Anniversary Women's Tennis Team

UAA Announces 30th Anniversary Women's Tennis Team

The University Athletic Association has announced its 30th Anniversary Women's Tennis Team. Forty-three student-athletes earned the honor, including 30 from Emory University, which has captured 28 of the first 30 UAA championships.

UAA Women's Tennis 30th Anniversary Release

The team consists of each student-athlete who was named Most Valuable Player or accumulated five or more points with two points awarded for All-Association first-team singles recognition, and one point for second-team singles honors in her career. Players who captured the top-flight singles title in years preceding the designation of a Most Valuable Player (1989-93) were also named to the team.

Among those honored is Mary Ellen Gordon of Emory, who was named Most Valuable Player four consecutive times from 2001-04 and captured back-to-back NCAA Division III individual titles in 2003 and 2004. Gabrielle Clark of the Eagles was named to the All-Association first team all four years and earned UAA Most Valuable Player honors three times (2011, 2013-14). She also won a pair of NCAA singles titles.

The other honorees to earn multiple Most Valuable Player recognition were Amy Staloch of Carnegie Mellon University, Jessica Levy of Emory, and Kendra Higgins of the University of Chicago.

Three other Emory Most Valuable Players joined Gordon and Clark as four-time All-Association selections, including 1996 Most Valuable Player Amy Smith, who accomplished the feat from 1993-96 and is now Amy Bryant, the Eagles' head coach. 2000 Most Valuable Player Julie Sterner received All-Association honors each year from 1997-2000, while the 2005 Most Valuable Player Carina Alberelli garnered All-Association accolades from 2002-05.

Other four-year honorees from Emory were Jill Tobin (1989-92), Megan Bern (1994-97), Madison Gordon (2013-16), Beatrice Rosen (2013-16). Mandy Jackson of the Eagles was also named to the 30th Anniversary Women's Basketball Team.

In 30 years, 39 teams from the UAA have finished in the top-eight with 22 advancing to at least the NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Championship Final Four. Emory has won seven national championships, including in 2016, and has reached the NCAA final each of the past five seasons. The Eagles have finished second five times, while Chicago placed second in 2012.

All-UAA 30th Anniversary Women's Tennis Team

Carina Alberelli, Emory                                 

Megan Bern, Emory                                 

Jamie Chan, Emory                                 

Gabrielle Clark, Emory                                 

Zahra Dawson, Emory                                 

Vindya Dayananda, Chicago                               

Melissa Goodman, Emory                                 

Mary Ellen Gordon, Emory                                 

Madison Gordon, Emory                                 

Bridgette Harding, Emory                                

Kendra Higgins, Chicago                               

Rebecca Ho, Washington                         

Mandy Jackson, Emory                                 

Nithya Kanagasegar, CWRU                                

Karen Kirschbom, Emory                                 

Jennifer Kung, Chicago                               

Stefanie Leshaw, Emory                                 

Jessica Levy, Emory                                 

Jill Mazza, Rochester                            

Shannon McGlame, Emory                                 

Debbie Michelson, Washington                         

Keri Mills, Carnegie Mellon            

Margaret Moscato, Emory

Tshema Nash, Emory

Vanessa Pavia, Carnegie Mellon

Shilpa Reddy, Washington

Beatrice Rosen, Emory

Lindsay Reidenbach, Emory

Michelle Satterfield, Emory

Tracy Shub, Emory

Amy Smith,  Emory

Amy Staloch, Carnegie Mellon

Julie Sterner, Emory

Katarina Su, Emory

Nicole Sullivan, Emory

Jolyn Taylor, Emory

Erin Terrell, Emory

Jill Tobin, Emory

Minh Tran, Brandeis

Carmen VacaGuzman, Chicago

Emily Warburg, Emory

Alexa Wilensky, Emory

Jordan Wylie, Emory