Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

All Eight UAA Volleyball Teams Earn AVCA Team Academic Award

All Eight UAA Volleyball Teams Earn AVCA Team Academic Award

The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) announced that all eight UAA teams have earned the AVCA Team Academic Award for the 2017-2018 season. It marks the second consecutive year in which every school earned the honor.

The award, which was initiated in the 1992-93 academic year, honors collegiate and high school volleyball teams that displayed excellence in the classroom during the school year by maintaining at least a 3.30 cumulative team grade-point average on a 4.0 scale or a 4.10 cumulative team GPA on a 5.0 scale.

The AVCA Team Academic Award is the single largest award offered by quantity of schools, players and coaches honored. Since the 2000-2001 season, the number of recipients has increased every single year but two, while amassing a 619-team increase over the span of the last decade. Since the award's inception in 1993, the amount of award winners has increased from 62 to its current number of 973.

The schools with total number of team academic awards and current streak:

Brandeis: 5 times, 2 consecutive years

Carnegie Mellon: 10 times, 2 consecutive years

CWRU: 11 times, 11 consecutive years

Emory: 17 times, 9 consecutive years

NYU: 11 times, 2 consecutive years

Chicago: 4 times, 2 consecutive years

Rochester: 6 times, 4 consecutive years

Washington University: 13 times, 3 consecutive years