Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

UAA Announces 30th Anniversary Volleyball Team

UAA Announces 30th Anniversary Volleyball Team

The University Athletic Association has announced its 30th Anniversary Volleyball Team. Fifty-seven student-athletes earned the honor, including 29 from Washington University, which has captured 21 Association championships.

The team consists of each student-athlete who was named Most Valuable Player or accumulated five or more points in her career, with two points awarded for All-Association first-team recognition, and one point for second-team honors.

Among those honored are Washington student-athletes Jennifer Martz, the only player in Association history to be named UAA Volleyball Most Valuable Player (MVP) three consecutive times (1996-98); Amy Albers, the only other player to garner back-to-back Most Valuable Player honors (1993-94); and Lori Nishikawa, the only other two-time Most Valuable Player (1987, 1989).

Five players have been named to the All-Association first team four times, including three from Emory University. Sydney Miles (2012-15), 2009 UAA MVP Natalie Schonefeld, and 2016 UAA MVP Jessica Holler of the Eagles earned first-team honors each season. 2001 UAA MVP Lauren Schmidt of Carnegie Mellon University and Kelly Pang of Washington also garnered first-team recognition in all four years they competed.

Before 2013, only four players who did not play for either Washington or Emory were named Most Valuable Player, with Schmidt being one of them. Diane Ulatowski (University of Rochester, 1988), Stephanie Szobota (Carnegie Mellon, 1999), and Katya Khmelnitskaya (NYU, 2003) also received the Association’s top individual honor. University of Chicago produced three MVP’s in two years with Nikki DelZenero and Eirene Kim sharing the honor in 2013 and Maren Loe garnering MVP honors in 2014. 

Seven student-athletes from six-time UAA champion Emory have been named Most Valuable Player and another seven Eagles earned a spot on the 30th anniversary team. Lulu Sewell (2002) was the first Emory MVP.

In 30 years, teams from the UAA have captured 11 national championships with eight runner-up finishes. In 2003, three Association teams advanced to the NCAA Division III Volleyball Championship Final Four with Washington and NYU meeting in the national final. Washington won six consecutive national championships from 1991-96 and the UAA won three titles in a row from 2007-09 with the Bears capturing the title in 2007 and 2009 and Emory winning its first national volleyball title in 2008. 

UAA 30th Anniversary Volleyball Team

Amy Albers, Washington                            

Erin Albers, Washington                            

Lisa Becker, Washington                            

Kathy Bersett, Washington                            

Breanah Borque, Emory                                    

Amy Brand, Washington                            

Lauren Budde, Washington                            

Janet Bunning, Emory                                    

Meghan Byrne, Washington                            

Jenny Cafazza, Washington                            

Ali Celentano, Carnegie Mellon                    

Nikki DelZenero, Chicago                                  

Elena Drinka, NYU                                      

Caroline Dupont, Washington                            

Marilee Fisher,  Washington                            

Jackie Gibbons, Carnegie Mellon                    

Katie Gielow, Washington                            

Stephanie Habif, Washington                            

Jennifer Hall, Chicago                                  

Leslie Hartman, Rochester                               

Jessica Holler, Emory                                    

Brooke Hortin, Washington                            

Audra Janak, Washington                            

Katya Khmelnitskaya, NYU                                      

Eirene Kim, Chicago                                  

Kara Liefer, Washington                            

Maren Loe, Chicago                                  

Jennifer Martz, Washington                            

Jessica McAlvany, Emory

Amelia McCall, Emory

Tricia McCutchan, CWRU

Kelley Meier, Washington

Alysse Meyer, Emory

Sydney Miles, Emory

Alicia Moore, Emory

Nikki Morrison, Washington

Jackie Nelligan, Washington

Lori Nishikawa, Washington

Kelly Pang, Washington

Anne Quenette, Washington

Monica Robbins, Emory

Courtney Rose, Emory

Rebecca Rotello, Washington

Lauren Schmidt, Carnegie Mellon

Natalie Schonefeld, Emory

Lulu Sewell, Emory

Amy Shapiro, Emory

Jennifer Sherry, Rochester

Haleigh Spencer, Washington

Diane Stites, Washington

Amy Sullivan, Washington

Shelley Swan, Washington

Stephanie Szobota, Carnegie Mellon

Diane Ulatowski, Rochester

Megan Williams, Emory

Colleen Winter, Washington

Allison Zastrow, Washington